Organizing Team

Scientific Committee Members

  1. Dr David Drew, Stellenbosch University, South Africa
  2. Prof Jerry Vanclay, Southern Cross University
  3. Prof Aaron Weiskittel, University of Maine
  4. Prof Ben du Toit, Dept. Forest and Wood Science Stellenbosch University
  5. Prof Lam Tzeng Yih
  6. Prof Margarida Tome, Technical University of Lisbon
  7. Dr John Moore, Scion
  8. Prof Annikki Mäkelä, University of Helsinki
  9. Dr Brand Wessels, Stellenbosch University, South Africa
  10. Dr Horst Kassier, SAPPI
  11. Dr. M. Paulina Fernández, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile, Chile
  12. Dr Michael Battaglia, CSIRO
  13. Dr Auro Almeida, CSIRO, Australia
  14. Dr David Forrester, WSL
  15. Prof Harold Burkhart, Virginia Tech
  16. Prof Thomas Seifert, Germany
  17. Mr Heyns Kotze, Mondi 380 Old Howick Road Hilton 3245, South Africa
  18. Prof Dave Auty, Northern Arizona University

Organising Committee Members

  1. Dr David Drew, Stellenbosch University, South Africa
  2. Anton Kunneke, Stellenbosch University, South Africa
  3. Justin Erasmus, University of Stellenbosch, South Africa
  4. Mr Cláudio João Cuaranhua, Stellenbosch University, South Africa
  5. Miss Gabigabi Sibiya, Msc. Forestry and Yield science student at the University of Stellenbosch, South Africa
  6. Mrs Poppie Gordon
  7. Mrs Albe van Niekerk, University of Stellenbosch, South Africa
  8. Mr Brian George Mandigora, Stellenbosch University, South Africa


We are very grateful to all our generous sponsors! Watch this space. This list is constantly being updated!






Forestry South Africa (FSA)


Horts Geosolutions



Stihl South Africa

Stihl South Africa


Alternative Structures

Alternative Structures



Sources of Support

We are grateful to the following media partners who have increased conference exposure:

Annals of Forest Science in which we hope to publish a set of selected papers as a special issue.

Annals of Forest Science


The Scientific Committee and Organising Committee also gratefully acknowledge the support of the following sources:

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License.